I Should Have Just Stayed In Bed …

When I awoke, the birds were chirping and the sun was peaking its sleepily head just over the horizon. My mood was annoyingly chipper, it was the sort of mood where you are just ready to take on the world. Humming to myself, “Do You Want to Build a Snowman”, I slipped on my favorite pair of jeans and headded to the bus.  Now I take a bus into work every morning, and bring in my work skirt in with me to change into once I get into work…I had rumor that wearing a skirt outside in 30 degree weather, is not an incredibly bright thing to do.  Why this is relvant will be reveled later in the tale.

Recently the temperatures have been freezing or just below it, so the local fire department has been opening their fire hydrants to makes sure they don’t freeze. Great, wonderful, good for them…except, they don’t salt the ground afterwards. Thus leaving a river of black ice all down the road, just waiting for a klutz to walk by and fall victim to all of its icy glory. A klutz, like me.

So after my dangerous and peril ridden trek to the bus stop, the bus finally arrives. A thought strikes me as I’m about to board, “Did I grab my skirt for work?”…the answer was a resounding, “nope, you lose.” Already running a little late this morning, I rushed through the ice ridden streets to my apartment. There on my bed, was the object of my desire. I quickly grabbed my skirt and rushed back to the bus stop. Now the streets that I have to cross to get there are rather perilous on a good day, because someone in their infinite wisdom decided that putting a sidewalk at this busy intersection would be a waste of tax payers’ money. So after I dashed across the road, I realized that my metro pass was missing.

No pass =  no bus, so guess where I was headed back to…you guessed it, my apartment. The cardholder on my lanyard is broken, who knew where I could have possibly dropped my pass. Luckily, I did find my metro laying in the middle of my living room (which is nowhere near my bedroom). How it got there, I have no clue, but I found it. By this point, I am running half an hour late.

It would appear that I wasn’t the only one running late this morning either, because my bus was packed. I squeezed onto the bus and hoped for the best, but too late. What should have been a 10 minute drive to work, turned into a half an hour commute. And since I lost my headphones earlier in the week, I spent that whole trip listening to a conversation in Ethiopian. Do you speak Ethiopian? Cause I don’t (I think it was Ethiopian).

Finally I arrive at work. What does this girl need? A serious coffee fix, that’s what. So I mosey on over to the Starbucks in the building, which it is crowded as always.  So I patiently waited, and waited, and waited. Not one, not two, or three people who placed their orders after mine, but four, all received their drinks before me. By this point, I have accepted that today is just not my day.

I make my way back to the office, only to find out the copy machine is broken. Fine, I will just wait for the pay checks to arrive. I won’t bore you with the details, just know that I have to sort these checks manually (500+). And on this day two sets of checks had been sent, and I had to have to figure out which set of checks were the correct one… oh joy. Half way through this ardiuous task, the fire alarm goes off. Seriously, you can’t make this up.

That’s right, my building was being evacuated because there was an actual fire. Now you know how I mentioned that I change at work out of my jeans…well there is not a whole lot time to do that when you are being evacuated from a building. So there I was standing there in 30 degree weather, in.a.skirt. Finally we get back inside, and we find out that a microwave fire was to blame.

Needless to say, I am ready for that happy hour drink(s) and hope against hope that tomorrow is a better day…watch, now that I’ve said that, a bird is probably going to use me for target practice.

Image

Leave a Reply

